The Old House 1147
The Old House is situated in a rural location approximately two miles south of Maesteg, to the west side of the A4063. The building’s National Grid reference is 285730 188760. The inn is located immediately to the south of the village churchyard, and accessed from the road around the churchyard walls.
The Old House Inn in Llangynwyd is a Grade II Listed Building, listed in 1988 as a building containing some good C17 work, and of picturesque and group value with the church, churchyard walls and telephone call box at the centre of the village conservation area. (listed 31/10/88; record no. 11352)
The village is the site of Llangynwyd parish church, the ruins of Llangynwyd castle. The placename Llangynwyd refers to the hilltop village with a church dedicated to St Cynwyd, a sixth-century chief, the son of Cynfelyn. The church was founded by St Cynwyd in the 6th century. All that remains of the original structure is the stone socket of a wooden cross, which can be seen in the wall above the entrance. The church was rebuilt in the 13th century and has subsequently been restored several times. The square tower dates from the 15th century and was completely restored in 1893. The church has the biggest private cemetery in Europe.
The old village of Llangynwyd "Top Llan” has important well-documented historic associations. A literary centre of Glamorgan during the Middle Ages up until the 17th century, in particular, associated with the chief bards of Tir Iarll. Rhys Brydydd, Gwilym Tew, Rhys Goch ap Rhiccert (fl mid-14th century), Rhisiart ap Rhys Brydydd and Dafydd Benwyn, among many others were bardic poets associated with the area. During the 18th century the area was associated with Wil Hopcyn (d 1741), author of one of the most famous of Welsh Love Songs, 'Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn'; the locality being the setting for the famous, tragic romance of the 'Maid of Cefn-Ydfa'. A memorial to Wil Hopcyn was erected between The Old House and Corner House Inn in 1927. Antiquarians Rice Merrick and Iolo Morgannwg among others visited the area, which is also renowned for its superstitions and traditions such as 'Mari Lwyd’, and Gwyl Mab Sant. The village still celebrates the New Year, or Calennig, with the Mari Lwyd - a horse's skull draped in a white sheet with flowers
In more recent times, the likes of Richard Burton, Elizabeth Taylor and David Bowie are documented as having patronised the public house - this is arguably more testament to the historic attraction of the pub to those visitors than the record of such celebrities visiting themselves.
Restored, renovated and redeveloped between 2017 and 2019, this premium county inn offers seasonal dining, rolling landscapes and a picture perfect event space nestled in the heart of the Llynfi Valley.